Not Cloudy All Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The Guide August 11, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Marinn @ 2:23 pm

So there’s some great scenes at the end of the movie Elizabethtown. Orlando Bloom’s character is driving across the country to a guide and soundtrack created by Kirsten Dunst’s character.  It’s fabulous! It tells him where to go each step of the way – what side trips to make, what turns to take. It’s all layed out for him. There’s no second guessing plus there’s great music to go along with it! Besides the fact that I would LOVE a soundtrack to go with my 4 day drive, a guide would be nice as well. I have my mapquest directions and will be picking up a road atlas today (Minaly so I’ll have current rest area locations!), but a guide like the one in the film means someone has gone ahead of you. It means that the path is clear and as long as you follow it you will reach the destination and get to see some pretty amazing stuff along the way!

Wouldn’t it be nice if everything in life were that clear, if all paths were layed out for us, if all we have to do is follow the concrete directions? What is clear is that that is not always the case. In fact, I think that situation tends to be the exception rather than the rule. So while I won’t have a guide telling me exactly where to go and when, I will be making my soundtrack over the next couple days and welcome any and all suggestions!

 

One Response to “The Guide”

  1. wendy Says:

    i wish that i could have provided a more guided soundtrack for your trip. i loved that part of the movie and thought it was such an inspired idea. i am glad you like the music. i keep thinking of more songs i would have added. i could easily have made 5 cds to include all the songs i thought you might enjoy as you travel along!

    enjoy the journey! and thanks for sharing it with us!


Leave a comment