Not Cloudy All Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Responding to Requests August 29, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Marinn @ 3:28 am

So I’ve had a few requests… I’ll do my best to respond.

I am teaching two courses this semester. Both are undergraduate – General Psychology and Techniques of Counseling. The formats for both courses are quite different from what I am used to and honestly I don’t know that I’m totally bought into the process just yet – although I see the purpose behind it. Gen Psych is an online course. This means I never lay eyes on my students, and they work independently from home. This course is full! Exciting but also means I have to grade 20 papers in November. Techniques is a weekend format. We meet four weekends semester from 5-9 on Friday and 9-5 on Saturday. This is an intense class as is, and the intensity is increased by the course material. It should definitely be interesting!

The house is “fab” (to quote my co-worker, Katrina). My landlord is still working on the finishing touches, so I’ll post pictures then. It is in a great neighborhood. I’ve enjoyed driving home and seeing kids playing, riding their bikes likes we used to do. Great Falls is still, for the most part, a safe place to live and raise a family. It’s been refreshing to see.

I’ve also enjoyed the stars! The heat and smog in Knoxville made for a limited clear sky, but my house is on the edge of town. There’s very little light, so I can walk out and see the stars!!! They’re glorious! There’s a reason they call Montana Big Sky Country. A couple nights ago I made myself a tomato and mayonaise sandwich, sat in the swing in my back yard, and just enjoyed the vastness. It’s pretty amazing to feel so small.

Well, I teach from 9-5 tomorrow, so I’m signing off…

 

Leave a comment